Christmas Cards

I know it is only October, but decided to make my Christmas cards early this year. It is fun making handmade cards, and I hope they are appreciated more than store bought ones. 

I started by drawing my ideas in my sketchbook. A robin collaged out of my hand printed papers was what I settled on. I started by printing papers in green, red and brown on my mini gelli plate. 



I then made templates out of thin card of the robin’s body, red breast and wing. After cutting them out of the coloured papers, I stuck them together. The white card background was not exciting enough, so I decided to use the gelli plate to print in blue directly onto the cards. All was then assembled with holly and pen drawn legs and eye. 

Quite pleased with the results, and hope they will be enjoyed by those who eventually get them. 

Leave a Reply

